Roadrunner’s Nest

 Updated & Revised Tapestry

Submit + $10.00 shipping/handling

First School of the Deaf 1891 on NMSD campus

Third school building, the 18-room home and school building was built in 1891 during Larson's era.

 It cost $5,000 paid for by Mr. Larson.

 When a new red brick school was built, it became a trade shop from 1905 until 1916.

It was built where Cartwright Hall is now located.

Then it was demolished to make room for the new girls' dorm, Cartwright Hall.

Red Brick School 1905

The fourth red brick school building was erected in 1901.

It took four years to build at a cost of $18,000. It was completed in 1905 but it was not in operation until 1906.

Mr. Larson took over the operation of the new building for only one year.

That building consisted of bedrooms for the older boys on the top floor and in the middle floor was used for classrooms and Superintendent's office.

 In the basement, it was a vocational department.

It became classrooms building after Connor Hall, the boys' dorm, was built in 1928.

 It was domolished in 1936 after the fifth school building was erected.

Cartwright Hall 1916

Cartwright Hall was erected in 1916.

The style of the building is called Spanish Pueblo Revival.

It was and is the most beautiful building on the campus.

It was used as bedrooms for little boys on the top floor while the middle was used for the girls' bedrooms.

The basement was occupied by a kitchen and a dining room.

Then it became a girls' dormitory in 1936 after Connor Hall, Boys' dorm and dining hall were built.

Alumni Memorial Plaza 1987

Richard Pearson and Forrest McKinley designed the Alumni Memorial Plaza.

Inside the platform is the storage of two time capsules to be opened in 2087.

It is located where the red brick school was.

 Some of the bricks were found underneath and used as part of decoration on the platform.

Lars M Larson

Lars M Larson, the founder of the first private school for the deaf in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

After his work with the state government, he finally got a state operated school established for the deaf children of New Mexico.

It was at one time a school for the deaf and blind children.

He was in charge of the school program for 19 years.

New & Revised Roadrunner Logo

The new and revised NMSD Roadrunners Logo

Connor Hall 1928

Connor Hall was a boys' dorm built in 1928 in honor of Mr. W.O. Connor who was the second Superintendent for 34 years, 1906 to 1944.

The building is being renovated as the school's new Technical and Career Education Facility.

Dillon Hall 1936

The fifth school building was built in 1936.

It was named Dillon Hall in honor of Dr. Thomas Dillon in 1982 who was the first deaf principal from 1940 to 1975.

Lars Larson Activity Center 2006

The Larson Recreation Center was added to the Larson original gym, which was built in 1970's.

 It was built to give special recognition to Larson for his work.

James A Little Theatre 1982

The James A. Little theatre, the most beautiful and unique building ever building on our campus, named for James A Little who was the fourth Superintendent of NMSD for 20 years in 1982.

It is now in use for school and the public.

The best theatre ever built in Santa Fe.

Hester Hall 1965

The Hester Hall, the preschool department, was added to the campus in 1965 in honor of Dr. Marshall Hester, the third Superintendent.

It was demolished in 2009.

The new Hester Hall was built next to Connor Hall in 2007.

Revised Wording

The Alumnis voted to have it changed from year - year (1885-2015, 1885-2010, etc) to “Founded 1885” so it can be always without changing years.

The story behind pictures

Old Tapestry

Submit + $10.00 shipping/handling

5 left

Polo Shirt

Colors Choice: Black, White & Red

Sleeves: Short


XS, S, M, L &XL = $36.00 + shipping

XXL & Up = $38.00 + shipping